Multiple Locations

Want to contact a fast food restaurant and suggest vegan options?  Go to North American Vegetarian Society’s Vegetarian Express Campaign and scroll down to get the addresses and phone numbers of national fast food chains.

Baja Fresh
The beans and rice and do not contain any chicken broth. I have heard conflicting information on whether the guacamole contains dairy products.  I have been informed that the tortillas do have dairy.

Blue Burrito Grille
480- 951-3151  7318 E Shea Blvd,  Scottsdale,  AZ 85260-6426
602- 787-2775  4622 E Cactus Rd,   Phoenix, AZ 85032 – 7704
custom veggie rice beans and guacamole burrito
Visit VegGuide.org for complete info and review!

Brueggers Bagels
All of their bagels are vegan, except for the honey wheat and the sun dried tomato (contains cheese).

Buca di Beppo Italian Restaurants
Multiple locations around the valley
“Just wanted to let you know that the pizza dough at Buca di Beppos is also vegan.  I always went to the one in Las Vegas, and now go in Mesa.  They used to have a pizza called “Marinara Pizza” on the menu.  They have always still let me order it.  It came with marinara sauce, fresh garlic slices, and fresh basil. and no cheese.  I order it with the mixed green salad (of which the house dressing for that is also vegan).  Or you can order a margherita (sp?) pizza without the cheese (and add either garlic or basil, I forgot which one it doesn’t come with).  I just ask them not to cut it so the cheese from other pizza’s doesn’t touch it!  I have confirmed this being vegan on many occasions with managers in both LV and AZ.  I also contacted the company by e-mail recently, just to be sure nothing has changed.  Oh, the pizza dough and marinara sauce are truly vegan, meaning no sugar also.”
Thanks, Connie!

Burger King
Bad news – Burger King’s BK Veggie has been reformulated and now contains egg whites. This is a terrible step backwards.  I urge all of you to write to Burger King and ask them to eliminate the egg products from this menu item.  Contact the Burger King Corporate Office: 5505 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami FL 33126.
Corporate Headquarters (305) 378-3000
Marketing/Advertising (305) 378-7200
Consumer Relations (305) 378-3535
(Monday-Friday 9 a.m.-5 p.m. ET)

California Pizza Kitchen
Delicious hummus, and other options.  Also:  “has some great salads – Balsamic Provincial and they will add extra veggies, olives & sun-dried tomatoes, to make it extra good.” Thanks, Michelle!

Carl’s Jr.
in all Mesa locations offer BOCA patties instead of meat patties

Carlos O’Brien’s Mexican Food Restaurants
*All of our fried foods are cooked in zero trans fat vegetable oil and our grilled items are cooked with heart smart canola oil.
*We never use MSG!
*We do NOT use LARD in any of our food!
*We serve three types of beans: pinto, black and refried. They are all vegetarian and have no added fat.-Thanks, Linda!
Warning-  We were informed that their rice contains chicken broth.

Chili’s
Vegan options: Black Beans, Rice (no chicken broth), Southwestern Vegetable Soup, Vegetables, Salads, and French Fries.  Our hamburger buns contain whey but our pita bread does not.
Note- We were told that the black bean burger contains egg whites.  Thanks, Meg!

Chipotle
“Their tortillas, black beans, rice, guacamole and salsas (hot, medium corn and mild) are vegan. They actually run some in-store ads stating that these items are 100% animal ingredient free, which I find very refreshing and should be commended. I also, know the manager of the GIlbert location and he assured me of this as well.” Thanks to Jeremiah McElwee for this info!

Chompy’s
Warning: I have been alerted that they use whey in their bagels.

Claim Jumper Restaurant
480-951-6111   7000 E. Shea Blvd,  Scottsdale, AZ  85254
623-581-8595   3063 W Agua Fria Freeway,  Phoenix, AZ  85027
480- 831-8200   1530 W Baseline Rd,  Tempe, AZ  85283
From Claim Jumper’s Guest Services: “Thank you for contacting us regarding Vegan items on our menu. We are very pleased that you are planning on dining with us. The following is a list of selected items that are/can be prepared Vegan with little or no alterations.   Fire Roasted Artichoke – comes with a garlic mayonnaise on the side, so ask for it to be removed.  Soft Pretzel – comes brushed with butter, so ask for no butter.   Bruschetta.  Candied Walnut and Asian Pear Salad – ask for no Blue Cheese Crumbles.  California Citrus Salad – ask for no Blue Cheese Crumbles.  Crunchy Spinach Salad – ask for no bacon, or feta cheese.  House Salad – ask for no bacon, egg, cheese or croutons.  Our Citrus Dressing is the only Vegan salad dressing option, but it is delicious!  Roasted Vegetable Soup.  Thai Cole Slaw.  Shoestring French Fries.  Fresh Charbroiled Asparagus.  Seasonal Roasted Vegetables.  Baked Potato.  Any of our pizzas can be made without cheese or marinara sauce.  Any of our Burgers can be made substituting a veggie patty.  Broiled Portobello Sandwich (the mushroom itself is marinated in our Balsamic Binaigrette that does not contain any dairy) – ask for no mayo or cheese. Our sourdough bread, French bread, wheat bread, squaw bread, and Bruchetta Bread are all made without eggs, milk or whey.”

Del Taco
has a veggie works burrito (be sure to ask them to hold the sour cream and cheese)

Domino’s Pizza
Warning: We have been told that the new sauce contains chicken fat and is definitely not vegan.

Einstein’s Bagels
- Bagels w/ PBJ
- Fruit
- Chips
- Red beans & rice soup
- Hummus (which is good, but not Mediterranean style)
- Most of their bagels (except for the obvious ones) are vegan.
“will make their Bro’s Bistro salad, hold the cheese crumbles, and add veggies – tomatoes, cucumber, roasted peppers.” Thanks, Michelle!

Fazoli’s
Multiple locations around the valley
From the Quality Assurance Manager at Fazoli’s Management:
Although we are limited in vegan choices, we do offer a few. The list of vegan options includes:
Spaghetti (or any of our other noodles)
Marinara Sauce
Spicy Marinara Sauce
Dry Breadstick
Garden Side Salad – Lite Italian Dressing, no croutons
Lemon Ice

Filberto’s
Warning: I have been alerted that the beans contain lard and the rice contains chicken stock.

Julio G’s Mexican Restaurants
12631 N Tatum Blvd in Phoenix
7633 E Indian School Rd in Scottsdale
Warning: A manager confirmed that they use lard in their beans, tortillas and chips.

Julio’s Too Mexican Restaurants
580 S College Ave in Tempe
12629 N Tatum Blvd in Phoenix
7305 E Camelback Rd in Scottsdale
1935 S Val Vista Dr in Mesa
Warning: A manager confirmed that they use lard in their beans, tortillas and chips.

Little Caesar’s
Click here for locations.
From the Little Caesar’s website:
“Little Caesars pizza crust is made with a quality, high-protein flour and contains no eggs or dairy-based conditioners. The sauce is made from crushed tomatoes and is seasoned with a special blend of natural herbs and spices – it also is made without animal broth or by-products. This means that customers who are strict vegetarians can order a Little Caesars vegetable pizza, without cheese, and still fulfill their needs.
There are other items that can be special-ordered from our menu that are acceptable for a strict vegetarian diet. For example, Crazy Bread can be ordered without Parmesan cheese along with an order of Crazy Sauce on the side.”

Macyo’s Mexican Restaurant
The chips and tortillas are vegan. Warning: the rice contains chicken broth.

New York Pizza Dept
Surprise, Glendale, Phoenix, Scottsdale, Tempe, Chandler
For locations visit www.aznypdpizza.com
Besides the obvious items like our salads (those without cheese) and pastas (spaghetti, linguine and penne), our marinara and pasta sauces are vegan as well.  My son who is also vegan enjoys our pizza without  cheese and topped with artichokes, onions, green peppers, mushrooms and garlic. If you do order pasta, please tell your server to avoid any cheese garnish. Hope that helps and we look forward to serving you soon.
Richard F. Stark
COO , New York Pizza Dept.

Olive Garden
New info from Olive Garden Guest Relations!!
“The following pastas used in our restaurants do not contain egg:  spaghetti, linguine, fettuccine, farfalle, angel hair, capellini, penne, and shells. However, they are prepared in the same area as other menu items or pastas, such as ravioli, that do contain eggs. There is always the possibility of cross introduction of other egg-containing product. We must ask that you use your own discretion when ordering these items.

Please know that our Minestrone Soup, Marinara Sauce and Garden-Fresh salad without dressing are considered vegan. Keep in mind that we do not have a separate preparation area for these items and the possibility of cross introduction of a non-vegan item is a possibility.

I hope you find this information helpful. Your desire to see additional vegan and vegetarian selections on our menu has been shared with our senior management team for future consideration. Please let me know if I can assist you further.”

From an AZVegan.com visitor: The Olive Garden Restaurant serves one of my favorite dishes, “Capolini Pomodoro”, Vegan, according to the ingredients, and what they have told me,  but I want to warn others that their salad dressing contains cheese and their bread sticks are coated with butter, also the croutons contain cheese.  I order the salad with no house dressing, oil and vinegar on the side, hold the croutons, and the bread sticks plain.  I tend to stay away from the vegetarian soup, several times I had to send it back due to clumps of beef.

On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina
they have really good veggie tacos and a spinach and mushroom enchilada (not vegan friendly, has cheese) also order black beans instead of refried because they are not cooked in pig fat.   The rice is not vegetarian.

Oregano’s Pizza Bistro
602-241-0707 at 1008 E Camelback Rd in Phoenix
602-253-9577 at 130 E Washington St in Phoenix
480- 858-0501 at 523 W University Dr in Tempe
3622 N Scottsdale Rd in Scottsdale
Oregano’s pizza place has vegan pizza. The thin crust can be made without cheese, and even a deep dish (not stuffed) can be made without cheese. But for some reason, many employees there do not seem to think that Parmesan is a cheese… so usually a separate request for no Parmesan cheese as well. Some of the best pizza in town.

Panda Express
Warning: None of their items are vegetarian! Everything is cooked with chicken broth.  Please contact them and ask them to offer vegetarian options.  You can call them toll-free at (800) 877-8988 or to submit an e-mail comment, click here.

Papa John’s Pizza
Click here for locations
A cheese-less veggie pizza with the original crust is vegan.  No eggs, no dairy, no animal fats, no animal-derived ingredients in the original crust or the sauce.  The thin crust pizza dough does contain milk products.  Click here for more detailed information on ingredients.

Pei Wei
This info was verified by their corporate chef
The “Dark Sauce” is made with chicken stock and chicken base in the recipe.  (The Pad Thai Sauce makes an excellent substitution for Kung Pao Style dishes.)  The sauces below can be substituted in other dishes to make them vegan. There is no chicken stock on the wok line, they use a vegetable stock. Dishes that would be vegetarian with vegetables and tofu:
Spring Rolls, Edamame, Pad Thai (modify when ordering “without eggs”), Blazing Noodles – as they are, Orange Peel – modify when ordering “without Kung Pao Sauce”, Hoisin Explosion, Asian Coconut Curry, Soba – Miso, Sweet and Sour, Teriyaki  (Most of the sauces contain processed sugar.)

Picassos -
The dough and pizza sauce are vegan.  Many valley locations.

Pizza Hut
This info is from the Guide to Fast Food – Vegetarian Menu Items at Restaurant and Quick Service Chains.  Click here to order a copy.
Pizza Hut’s Thin ‘n Crispy crust is vegan.  The regular pizza sauce is now vegan. It no longer contains beef flavorings.  The spaghetti marinara sauce is also vegan. However, there is a meat-based marinara sauce as well. Verify which one is being used.  The pasta at Pizza Hut is vegan.  The Italian and French dressings are vegan.  The dessert pizza crust, cherry topping, and icing are vegan, but the crumb topping contains milk.

Romano’s Macaroni Grill
Multiple locations around the valley
From AZVegan.com visitors:
“They don’t use egg in any of their pasta and the bread you get free with every meal is also vegan. You can also order the bruschetta without

Quiznos
Only the Ceabatta bread is vegan.  (They may charge you an extra 70 cents.)   Veggie sandwich – substitute Batch 81 sauce for vinaigrette and ask them to hold the cheese (double the guacamole to make up for it!)

Robeck’s
a Juice place (like jamba juice but better!)  They have soy sorbet and soy smoothies.  They also have vegan cookies called Power cookies.  They have lemon, chocolate chip, and oatmeal raisin.

Rubio’s Baja Grill
vegan “Health-Mex” burrito with beans and rice.  Watch out for the nonfat chipotle white sauce contains dairy.   New info from Rubio’s representatives! The guacamole does have dairy products, but the salsa fresca is pure vegetables, no animal proteins at all.

Someburros
From Manager Tim:  “Our flour tortillas do contain lard but our whole beans do not. I would recommend a veggie burro (no tortilla, no cheese) with an order of 3 corn tortillas on the side. You can make mini tacos and it is so good. I order this myself all the time.  Other than that, most of our other products contain lard or dairy. ”

Souper Salad Buffet
602- 955-6844  2045 E Camelback Rd,  Phoenix, AZ 85016 – 4710
602- 840-5686  2651 N 44 St,  Phoenix, AZ 85008 – 1557
623- 412-8321  7480 W Bell Rd,  Glendale, AZ 85308 – 8525
623- 582-4455  3053 Agua Fria Frwy,  Phoenix, AZ 85027 – 3926
480- 832-3389  6910 E Hampton Ave,  Mesa, AZ 85208 – 3302
480- 644-9566  1457 W Southern Ave,  Mesa, AZ 85202
602- 678-5466  10005 N Metro Parkway East,  Phoenix, AZ 85051 – 1524
602- 494-7656  4605 E Cactus Rd,  Phoenix, AZ 85032 – 7703
480- 491-8008  1180 W Elliot Rd,  Tempe, AZ 85284 – 1107
Huge salad bar, vegan soups and soft serve non-dairy dessert.

Subway
Click here for locations
“The menu items that do not contain any animal-derived ingredients are the Veggie Delite® on Italian bread and the Veggie Delite® salad. Also these individual items also do not contain animal-derived ingredients: all vegetables, oil, vinegar, mustard, sweet onion sauce and Fruizle. The wheat bread and deli roll contain honey but no other animal-derived ingredients.”   Click here for more detailed information on ingredients.

Sunflower Market
www.sunflowermarket.com
It is similar to Sprouts.  They have a nice organic produce section and a large supplement section with knowledgeable staff.  They have a lot of vegetarian foods, some vegan prepared foods, and the staff will special order just about anything. Thanks, Deb!

Taco Bell
the beans and tostada/taco shells are vegan, the flour tortillas contain mono- and diglycerides from an unspecified source, but are otherwise vegan.

Tokyo Express – 7 locations in the Phoenix area
vegan steamed veggie rice bowl, a few vegan sushi rolls and inari (cheap, too)

Whole Foods
I have been alerted that the falafel at Whole Foods salad bar is made with eggs.

Wildflower Bread Company
“The Indian School Wildflower Bread Company location has a printed handout that lists the ingredients for ALL of their bread products. Their breads are almost all vegan (except, of course, for an Egg bread or any specialty bread with Honey). They sell a Portobello Picnic sandwich which can be ordered vegan. Also, their menu usually doesn’t list it but I’ve ordered a Garden Vegetable sandwich (which is not grilled) twice now and it is delicious. I ordered mine with deli mustard and avocado on Rye bread (to make it vegan) and it was delicious.

Also, their soups vary from day to day and they make many vegetarian and vegan soups. The vegetarian Black Bean is vegan for example. There’s a full list of their soup selection on their website.” Thanks, Jonathan

Y C’s Mongolian BBQ
480-948-8011  9120 E Indian Bend Rd,  Scottsdale,  AZ 85250-8511
602-944-6818  9620 N Metro Parkway West,  Phoenix,  AZ 85051-1402
480-820-8880  3206 S McClintock Dr,  Tempe,  AZ 85282
480-948-8011  9120 E Indian Bend Rd,  Scottsdale
480-777-2929  752 W Elliot Rd,  Tempe
Meat is cooked on the same grill, but you can ask the chef to scrape the grill for you.

Mexican restaurants that don’t use lard:

- Macayo’s
- Carlos O’ Brians
- Blue Burrito
- Dos Gringo’s

Veg-Friendly Grocery Stores

Sprouts Farmers Market
602-896-0300 at 5665 W Bell Rd in Glendale
480-732-1012 at 1959 W Ray Rd in Chandler
602-323-2239 at 3200 S 7 St in Phoenix
480-551-9665 at 9301 E Shea Blvd in Scottsdale
New Location:  Tatum & Cactus ( NE corner)
“Has health foods & products, vegan & vegetarian foods, an impressive bulk grain/nuts/etc. department, beer & wine – but unfortunately they do have a flesh department. They have conventional and organic produce and the prices are amazingly low – beats Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, and Wild Oats by far!”

Sunflower Market
480-926-0405 at 730 South Cooper Road in Gilbert – on the NW Corner of Cooper & Warner
480-941-6001 at 4402 North Miller Road in Scottsdale – in the Camelback Shopping Plaza
Store Hours:  Monday-Sunday 8AM – 10PM
“It is similar to Sprouts.  They have a nice organic produce section and a large supplement section with knowledgeable staff.  They have a lot of vegetarian foods, some vegan prepared foods, and the staff will special order just about anything.” Thanks, Deb!

Trader Joe’s
602-371-0167 at 9640 N Metro Parkway West in Phoenix
480-948-9886 at 6202 N Scottsdale Rd in Scottsdale
623-972-0599 at 13602 N 99 Av in Sun City
602-912-9022 at 4821 N 20 St in Phoenix
480-632-0951 at 2048 E Baseline Rd in Mesa
480-367-8920 at 7555 E Frank Lloyd Wright Blvd in Scottsdale
480-838-4142 at 6460 S McClintock Dr in Tempe

Whole Foods Market
480-456-1400 at 5120 S. Rural Rd. in Tempe (on Rural & Baseline)
602-569-7600 at 10810 N Tatum Blvd
open till 10pm
I have been alerted that the falafel at Whole Foods salad bar is made with eggs.

ZPizza

ZPizza has daiya vegan cheese and vegan crumbles!  Delicious!!!  They have several valley locations and their pizza it outstanding!  They offer dine-in, carry-out, or delivery.  Vegan pizza has never tasted so good!!  Check them out at www.zpizza.com today!